Is it Me, or Is More of What We’re Reading Online a Bunch of B.S.?

Since becoming an independent editing, writing and marketing consultant, I’ve been reading more and more stuff coming into my email inbox than ever before. Newsletters, blogs, tweets, company Websites, you name it. I still read my trusty (and trustworthy) printed New York Times every morning over breakfast, BusinessWeek and others, but I’m finding that I’m spending more of my reading time with internet babble.

I may be sounding like a youngish Andy Rooney here, but it just appears that more and more online b-to-b material written by the so-called experts consists of such experts just shooting off their keyboards more than anything else. They toss out a few ideas; some may be usable, some may even be implementable. But by in large, I’m finding more of it to be internet babble.

Sh*t, what I’m typing right now is basically internet babble, isn’t it? It’ll hopefully stir you up a little, but in reality, I’m just another online talking head.

There is a pro side to this: It is my intent to get you thinking with my prose here. Other bloggers are basically doing the same thing more or less. But although there’s plenty of very good and useful stuff to be read, some who toss out so-called actionable tips are basically shooting from the hip more than anything else.

Hey, I love feedback. And as a former editorial director I reported to once said, “I love getting hate mail.” Take me to the mat here. Tell me how wrong (or right) I am. Hit me with your best shot, and let’s get a good debate going.

4 Responses

  1. I’ve thought this way for a long time. In fact, it goes back to some of the print publications in our direct marketing world where they write about how ABC Company has done something that increased sales 900%, but they never talk about profit impact, testing and control, etc. “Dell does $1M on Twitter” is the headline, versus “Dell sells 2 or 3 computers per day on Twitter”. What really irks me are the people on social networks like LinkedIn asking a rhetorical question that they then answer by selling their services, or they call themselves “__ __ visionary”. Don’t you have to be called a visionary by others to be one?

    The 12/1 requirement that internet authors have to show their connection to someone if they are paid to endorse a product/company should help bring some of this into the daylight, but clearly the internet has spawned a whole bunch of material that no one really should care about.

  2. You received a couple of my observations via personal email. I will now post here. Coming from an ad sales background, I too agree that media/sales/marketing are merging together, and you had better have skills in each, to survive and thrive. No more ivory towers to hide in!!

  3. How is it any different from what we read in the press or hear on the news–other than the quantity factor (more to sort through)? On the upside, the increased access means we are more likely than not to find useful and true info.

    • My feeling simply is, there are more and more experts and so-called experts out there blogging and writing articles in e-newsletters just to fill their daily or weekly quotas, and less finite and meaningful information they’re sharing.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

